Every Connecticut driver is required to have a certain amount of insurance to help cover the costs of an accident should one occur. The idea behind the Connecticut car insurance requirement is that a driver may not have the means to cover the costs of the property damage and medical bills that result from an accident that they cause. By requiring drivers to have insurance, this ensures that accident victims will not be left without any means of recourse.
Connecticut lawmakers are responsible for setting motor vehicle insurance limits. Liability insurance covers any accident caused by the vehicle owner’s negligence or the negligence of anyone they allow to use their vehicle. Currently, Connecticut requires that motorists carry coverage for $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for bodily injury and $10,000 for property damage.
Some serious Connecticut car accidents, however, result in far more damage than these liability limits cover. For this reason, lawmakers also require that Connecticut motorists carry insurance in the event that the person who causes an accident does not have sufficient insurance or has no insurance at all.
Insurance Against Underinsured and Uninsured Drivers
In Connecticut, motorists are required to carry coverage for $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident. This helps to ensure that if another driver who is not insured causes an accident, the injured motorist will be able to look to both the underinsured motorist’s liability insurance plan (assuming one exists) as well as their own underinsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist protection also covers damages caused by a hit-and-run driver. Importantly, these limits represent the minimum required insurance, and motorists are free to obtain additional insurance to cover more serious injuries.
Underinsured motorist protection is very important because it can help an accident victim obtain compensation if the person responsible for the accident either does not have insurance or does not have enough insurance to cover the costs incurred. For example, assume a motorist causes an accident resulting in injuries to another person totaling $200,000. If both parties only carried the minimum coverage, the accident victim would only be entitled to $20,000 from the at-fault driver’s policy (under the liability insurance provision) and another $20,000 from his own underinsured motorist provision. For this reason, it is recommended that motorists carry more than the minimum required amount of coverage.
Have You Been Injured in a Connecticut Car Accident?
If you or a loved one has recently been injured in a Connecticut car accident, you may be entitled to monetary compensation, even if the other driver involved did not have adequate insurance or did not have insurance at all. However, insurance companies often contest accident victims’ claims, dragging out the process and potentially defeating a motorist’s claim for compensation. The skilled attorneys at Brickley Law are dedicated to serving the residents of Fairfield County, including New Canaan, Norwalk, Wilton, Darien, and Stamford. Attorney Brickley provides personalized attention to all of her clients through her hands-on style of representation. With over 30 years of experience, Attorney Brickley knows what it takes to succeed on behalf of her clients. Call 203-599-3600 to schedule a free consultation with Attorney Brickley today.